Pakistan Super League

In February 2016 Prime TV won the exclusive rights for airing first edition of Pakistan Super League (PSL), the premier T20 tournament of Pakistan. PSL was a smashing success, featuring some of the top cricket players from all major cricketing nations. It was watched globally and especially was a huge success in United Kingdom and Europe because of its coverage by Prime TV. Prime is delighted to announce that we would be bringing you the second edition of PSL live from Dubai starting 7th Feb 2017.

PSL History

In September 2015, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) officially announced the launch of the PSL. Former Pakistani national team captains Wasim Akram and Rameez Raja signed up to promote the PSL and become brand ambassadors of the league for three years. After several years of planning and two previous failed attempts, the league officially began on 4 February 2016 in the United Arab Emirates, after the suspension of the Haier T20 Cup, the previous T20 league in Pakistan. The first season included five teams nominally based in Pakistani cities and players from 11 different countries.Pakistanis have historically constituted the majority of the players in domestic T20 competitions, but in its first season the PSL had a higher percentage of international players. The league uses a draft system for player recruitment similar to that used in many North American professional sports leagues and as opposed to the auction system used in some other T20 leagues.

The PSL's official logo and anthem were launched on 20 September 2015 in a ceremony in Lahore. The anthem, Ab Khel Ke Dikha, was sung by Ali Zafar and the PSL logo was revealed by 3Di. The ceremony was attended by current and retired cricketers, as well as Pakistani celebrities. Prior to the 2017 Pakistan Super League players draft in October 2016, league chairman Najam Sethi announced that the league hoped to be able to hold the 2017 final in Lahore in Pakistan following the agreement of Punjabi officials. In the first season of the league all matches, including the final, were held in the UAE due to security reasons. Sethi claimed that the league had signed foreign players with the condition that if their team reached the final that they would have to travel to Lahore, although this claim was rebutted by agents whose clients had agreed that they would only travel to play the final in Pakistan if the security advice prior to the final was favourable and who could not be forced to travel. An official of a PSL team said that security would need to be "extremely high" and that "cash incentives" had been offered to foreign players to agree to travel to Lahore, although no action would be taken against any player who refused to do so. In August 2016 Sethi had stated that if players were not willing to travel that teams would be able to pick from a pool of foreign players from other teams who had agreed to do so and that the PCB could organise "foolproof security" for the event.

Pakistan Super League PSL 2017

The PSL Pakistan Super League 2017 is scheduled to begin on Feb 7th 2017 in UAE. The PSL Draft for the second edition of the tournament was held on October 19 and all five teams announced their squads with most teams consisting of around 20 players from Pakistan and overseas. A few of the players were retained from the previous season by teams while the others were picked afresh from the PSL Draft. There was also a transfer window in which teams like Karachi Kings and Lahore Qalandars exchanged players. New Players like Eoin Morgan, Kieron Pollard, Sunil Narine and Brendon McCullum had also agreed to getting themselves placed in the Draft and were picked up by respective teams during the Draft, while Chris Gayle was let go of by Lahore and selected by Karachi.

Alex Hales got a nod as a supplementary player, as did Anton Devcich while there were many experienced and young Pakistani players who got the nod too. Misbah-ul-Haq will lead the defending champions Islamabad United yet again while Shahid Afridi handed over the captaincy of Peshawar Zalmi to Darren Sammy. Sarfaraz Ahmed will look to guide the Quetta Gladiators, while Sangakkara leads the Karachi Kings. Lahore Qalandars will be captained by Brendon McCullum.